What It All Comes Down To…

A glimpse into the life of our family. Some ideas, insight, recipes, and crafts. Maybe a baby picture or two.

Swiss Miss–It’s a Hit. February 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — What It All Comes Down To @ 4:44 pm

I’m sort of a food purist.  I bake my own bread, make most our food from scratch, and eat out very little.  Yes, I’ve even been known to toy around with things like tofu, kombucha, or raw milk.  I do draw the line at carob though.  When I was a kid, there was a large container of carob cocoa that my mother tried to infect us with on a regular basis.  She would admonish us when we tried to explain that it really did not taste “just like hot chocolate” but instead tasted like crap.  That’s a whole other story.  Back to today.

At the store this afternoon, I fell into the consumer trap and could not pass up the $1 box of Swiss Miss cocoa.  Dark Chocolate Bliss flavor.  I won’t even look at the ingredients listed on the box.  I won’t even consider that the box, while recyclable, is filled with nifty plastic-lined packets that are not.  The whole things reeks of unnatural,  mass-marketed crap (I’ve used that word twice in this post–radical!).  Now for the funny part.

My kids think it’s the best thing ever.  Yes, they’ve eaten the brown powder out of the package with a spoon.  Yes, they’ve not added the correct amount of water to the contents and thus created a sludgy, chocolate mess that hardly resembles the homemade cocoa the we usually drink.  Yes, there have been a few declarations of  “Boy do I feel full.”  But that’s just part of the experience. 

All and all, I believe this is the best $1 I’ve spent in a long time.  Not to worry, there’s 25% of the daily recommendation for calcium  hidden in the chocolatey goodness.  Ahh, the simple pleasures.

 

2 Responses to “Swiss Miss–It’s a Hit.”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    Well I’m the Swiss Miss mom. And Nick tells me how much WAAAY better your hot chocolate is…

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Oh, my poor deprived little boys! We make almost everything from scratch, and they will never have swiss miss in my kitchen. Our oldest has a big intolerance for anything artificial; he gets wildly out of control. So we work pretty hard at eliminating all that “crap”. But I drank more than my fair share of swiss miss growing up!


Leave a Reply

