What It All Comes Down To…

A glimpse into the life of our family. Some ideas, insight, recipes, and crafts. Maybe a baby picture or two.

What I’ve Always Wanted September 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — What It All Comes Down To @ 3:48 pm

The table of my dreams.

I’ve always wanted a huge farm table.  Like so huge it barely would fit in a kitchen.  And it had to be solid, indestructible.  Well, I found it!  Last Friday I found this behemoth at a junk (or junque) shop near our library.  The owner of the shop said she bought it at an auction the previous week and that it was from “a prestigious private school in Petersburg Virginia.”  Hmmmm, didn’t know they had any of those……  Anyway, it does seem to be a school table, probably from a library.  It is solid oak, it is huge, and it barely fits in my kitchen.  Perfect!

I really did need a new table.  Our current table was made to seat 4 of us, which worked just fine for most breakfasts and lunches when Bill wasn’t home.  With Sarah getting older and needing to learn how to belly up to the table, our seating around the old table was just getting too tight.  So tight that I had to quit putting our serving dishes on it during meals–food was served from the counter or the stove.  Hardly convenient.  Remember that part in the movie “A Christmas Story” when Ralphie says that his mother hadn’t had a hot meal in 13 years ?  Well, that was me.  Now I can seat everyone, plus about 4 more.  And I can line up tons of dishes down the middle of the table to serve from.  I can use it to knead bread on, mix cookies on, cut fabric on, do school work on.  I Love it!

 

4 Responses to “What I’ve Always Wanted”

  1. Aimee Perkins (Wourms) Says:

    I hear Ralphie chanting those infamous words in my head almost nightly… Made me giggle to see we still share similar thoughts. 🙂

  2. Grandma Says:

    Very nice. Now you need some more chairs.

  3. I remember when we got our big oak table. What a season of life. It turns out I sometimes think maybe a smaller table might be better. Good essay idea for me there.

    Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

